by Blue Cranes

supported by
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     $9.99 USD  or more




If you would like to purchase the physical copy of this album, please go here:

The members of Blue Cranes—Reed Wallsmith on alto saxophone, Joe Cunningham on tenor saxophone, Rebecca Sanborn on keyboards, Keith Brush on bass, and Ji Tanzer on drums—bring a unique array of experiences to their group-centered aesthetic, including work with AU, The Decemberists, Laura Veirs, Wayne Horvitz, Rebecca Gates, Laura Gibson, Ethan Rose, Pete Krebs, Black Prairie and Portland Cello Project. The band takes an evolutionary step forward on their fourth full-length album, Swim.

Swim is a departure from Blue Cranes' previous, and in some ways simpler, albums. Steered dutifully by producer Nate Query of The Decemberists, it is a window into the sometimes messy emotional space of a group struggling with and celebrating the ephemeralness of life. This work is the culmination of several between-album projects, including a 30-day crowd-sourced Amtrak train tour in 2011, and a seven day group composition retreat, supported in part by a grant from Portland’s Regional Arts and Culture Council. However, the heart of Swim lies in indelibly profound life events—the passing away of two dear friends, a serious injury, two weddings, and the birth of a child (Wallsmith's first)—events at tragic and uplifting extremes, both cathartic and celebratory.


released June 4, 2013

Produced by The Decemberists' Nate Query.
Released on Cuneiform Records (Silver Springs, MD).

Featuring guests: Eyvind Kang + members of: Los Lobos, tUnE-yArDs, The Devil Makes Three, Portland Cello Project, Radiation City, AU.

Blue Cranes:
Reed Wallsmith - alto saxophone
Joe Cunningham - tenor saxophone
Rebecca Sanborn - keyboards
Keith Brush - bass
Ji Tanzer - drums

Additional musicians:
Eyvind Kang, viola (2,5); Patti King, violin (2,3,5,6,8); Kyleen King, viola (2,3,5,6,8); Anna Fritz, cello (2,3,5,6,8); Nick Sweet, trombone (7); Noah Bernstein, alto saxophone (3,7); Chad Hensel, bass clarinet (3,7); Gus Baum, trumpet (3); Steve Berlin, baritone saxophone (3); Patrick Finley, trombone (3); Cooper McBean, saw (9); Jessica Cooke, Rhodes (9); Kevin DeMarco, guitar (9); Sam Howard, acoustic bass (9); Eric Redpath, drums (9).

All songs published by Lift Music Flown Music (BMI), except "Corporal's Lament" published by Stonk13 (ASCAP).

Recorded at Jackpot! (Portland, Oregon) by Kendra Lynn, Type Foundry (Portland, Oregon) by Jason Powers, and Licorice Labs (Davis, California) by Cooper McBean.

Mixed by Gregg Williams, except "Corporal's Lament" mixed by Kendra Lynn.

Mastering and vinyl lacquer cut by Gus Elg at Sky Onion, except "Corporal's Lament" mastered by Garrett Haines at Treelady Studios.

Cover and CD booklet photographs by Megan Kathleen McIsaac.
Vinyl label photograph by Erica Lord.
Design / layout by Dylan McConnell at Tiny Little Hammers.

Made possible in part by a grant from the Regional Arts and Culture Council (Portland, Oregon).




all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist


Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code