Cuneiform Records: The Albums of 2016

by Cuneiform Records

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price




This special "Name Your Price" compilation album features nearly 1.5 hours of creative and fun music over the course of 15 tracks all of which was released by Cuneiform Records in 2016.

We invite you to listen to Cuneiform Records: The Albums of 2016 and explore the wide spectrum of music we recently released over the year. Each track by each artist is unique; we invite you to sample all. And then, if you've not already done so, we hope that you'll listen to full albums by the artists who most appeal to you.

We released a total of 15 albums in 2016, by some of the most highly esteemed musicians on the planet, established icons of avant and contemporary musics like Wadada Leo Smith, Sao Paulo Underground (led by Rob Mazurek), The Claudia Quintet (led by John Hollenbeck), Richard Pinhas w/ Masami Akita (Merzbow) & Yoshida Tatsuya, Thumbscrew (Mary Halvorson/Michael Formanek/Tomas Fujiwara), Rez Abbasi (w/ Junction), Gary Lucas (w/ Fleischerei) – as well as fast-rising-stars like Bent Knee, Empirical, Naima, I.P.A. and Ergo. These artists came from around the world: the USA, the UK (England), Europe (France, Italy, Spain), Scandinavia (Norway, Sweden), Japan, and South America (Brazil). And as usual, Cuneiform’s releases were in a wide range of cutting-edge, progressive styles that emerged from the genres of both jazz (avant-jazz, post-jazz, jazz/rock and fusion, improv, creative music) and rock (post-rock, indie-rock, ambient, soundscapes, avant-progressive, experimental rock/noise). The majority of 2016's releases were jazz-related, and this year, two of our artists appeared prominently on the covers of leading American jazz publicans: DownBeat honored Wadada Leo Smith as a "National Treasure" on its November 2016 cover, and Jazziz celebrated Rez Abbasi on its July 2016 cover.  2016 was also notable for the high calibre of our rock albums; we released music by several top-notch bands who astounded the international rock music press, won new fans worldwide, and packed concerts. Our 2016 rock albums included Bent Knee (Say So), Deus Ex Machina (Devoto) and Richard Pinhas (Process & Reality w/ Masami Akita/Merzbow and Yoshida Tatsuya and Mu w/ Barry Cleveland).


released November 14, 2016

Links to the full albums on Bandcamp:

Sao Paulo Underground (Cantos Invisivies)

Richard Pinhas, Yoshida Tatsuya & Masami Akita (Process and Reality)

Wadada Leo Smith (America’s National Parks)

I.P.A. (I Just Did Say Something)

Ergo (As subtle as tomorrow)

The Claudia Quintet (Super Petite)

Bent Knee (Say So)

Naima (Bye)

Ed Palermo Big Band (One Child Left Behind)

Gary Lucas' Fleischerei (Music from Max Fleischer's Cartoons)

Empirical (Connection)

Thumbscrew: Mary Halvorson, Michael Formanek, Tomas Fujiwara (Convallaria)

Rez Abbasi & Junction (Behind the Vibration)

Richard Pinhas & Barry Cleveland (Mu)

Deus Ex Machina (Devoto)


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Cuneiform Records, you may also like: