We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Golden Years [HD 96k​/​24b]

by Pixel

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    This is a HD digital download [96k/24b]
    Purchasable with gift card

      $15 USD  or more


Rainforest 04:39
Our Beauty 04:20
Arp 01:56
Dani Anana 04:11
Move On 04:53
Slinky 04:51
Airborne 01:17


The award-winning Norwegian jazz quartet Pixel is in the vanguard of a scene brimming with exceptional young musicians, charting an exhilarating, improvisation-steeped jazz path infused with the cathartic energy of indie rock. Pixel’s third album Golden Years captures the next step in the band’s rapid evolution.

Pixel consists of double bassist and vocalist Ellen Andrea Wang, drummer Jon Audun Baar, trumpeter Jonas Kilmork Vemøy, and saxophonist Harald Lassen (with everyone contributing vocals).

Pixel tends toward translucent textures, tight orchestration and pop-inflected songcraft. While the sound is essentially acoustic, Vemøy and Lassen increasingly employ subtle effects that provide deeper textural depth to the already charged mélange of bright harmonies and protean rhythmic thrust.

Golden Years is the result of Pixel’s bustling 2014, a year in which the quartet played nearly 100 gigs (while also each pursuing projects of their own). When they started the recording process at the end of the year, everyone brought new songs to the table, tunes documented over five intensive days in the studio. Together these extraordinary musicians created an expansive album and sound unlike any other band on the scene. Still growing and discovering what they’re capable of, the musicians of Pixel are in their prime, and the group’s third album makes a compelling case that these are the best of times on the Norwegian scene.


released October 16, 2015

Jon Audun Baar: drums, percussion, vocal
Jonas Kilmork Vemøy: trumpet, vocal
Harald Lassen: saxophone, vocal, bongo
Ellen Andrea Wang: double bass, vocal

Recorded and mixed at Propeller Music Division by Mike Hartung, Oslo, Norway (February 2015).
Recording Assistant: Jacob Dobewall
Mastering: Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering
Pattern artwork: William Branton
Album Design: Thor Johannes Wang
Band Photo: Lasse Fløde

Supported by Fond For Utøvende Kunstnere and Komponistenes Vederlagsfond.


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Golden Years [HD 96k/24b], you may also like: