We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album + streaming

    Includes unlimited streaming of Ritual via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $16.50 USD or more 


Foot Talk 07:10
La Lluana 02:06
Matinaal 06:47
Epilog 04:41
Go 02:13
Dog Honk 01:57
Ritual 08:11
What? 02:17
New Day 06:29
New Day 03:03
Bygones 05:29
Relentless 09:02


This is a reissue of the Finnish lp-only first release by this great rock/avant/fusion guitarist and his band, and includes two bonus tracks.

The record features a unique blend of heavy guitarwork combined with dual, wailing Coleman and Ayler-influenced saxes and a rhythm section of bass/electric bass and two drummers. The music is quite original, but has certain musical ties to the harmolodic school ala The Decoding Society and Prime Time.

ECM released their 3rd and 4th albums and since that time Raoul has performed with a number of great players in a number of different playing situations. But this is where it all began, and it began in a great way here!

"...one of the best albums heard in a few months."
- Musician

"...this is a vital and important recording signaling the arrival of some world-class talents."
- The Wire


released October 23, 1996

Raoul Björkenheim - guitars, shekere, rebab

Jorma Tapio - alto sax, bass clarinet, bass flute, bones [tracks 1-10]

Tapani Rinne - tenor & baritone sax, wood flute [tracks 1-10]

Sampo Lassila - contrabass, electric bass

Heikki "Lefty" Lehto - drums [tracks 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12]

Michael Lambert - drums [tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9]

Tracks 1-10 (the original 1988 vinyl release] recorded at Finnvox, Helskinki, Finland, 1988

Track 11 recorded in early 1990 at the Cable Factory, Helsinki.

Track 12 recorded in 1989 at the Cable Factory, Helsinki.


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Ritual, you may also like: