We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Your download will include a digital booklet (pdf).
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Sister Death via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $16.50 USD or more 


Fire Shuffle 07:55
Unawake 02:23
Longreach 03:03
Black Ice 03:32
Exhumed 04:20
Scratch 04:07
Hashishin 07:50


Alec K. Redfearn and the Eyesores have been making uniquely rewarding music for over 15 years. They are one of the great uncategorizable, creative ensembles of our time, crafting a music that is distinctly theirs alone.

Many buzzwords have been used to describe the band’s playing and Redfearn’s composing and arranging, but they all fall short of conveying the dark beauty of the music and lyrics. Sister Death explores the mysteries of life, death, love, loss, creation and destruction, subjects that have informed Redfearn’s songwriting since the early 90s. It is their 7th album, their most widely approachable release and features striking artwork and photographs!

The group's unmistakable sound is the result of Alec's songs, which have poignant melodies and lyrics filled with doom-laden imagery. These songs are performed by a band who use unusual instrumentation (male and female vocals, accordion, double bass, French horn, organ, drums, percussion, electronics + many musical guests) in interesting and creative ways. The music touches on elements of Americana, folk, European cabaret, minimalism, noise, and progressive rock, but it ultimately transcends all categories except for 'excellence'.

"I spent about 6 years writing for this record. I've trashed dozens of tunes along the way. This record is probably the most accessible of our releases so far. I spent a lot of time obsessing over kraut-rock, space rock and psychedelic rock in the past few years, so that influence is bound to be felt. I've tried to move away from the Eastern European/Gypsy sound...we've always tried to change things up as we went. Probably the biggest change in our sound is the addition of Orion on the Acetone Top 5 organ and vocals. These latest songs have been built around the keyboard and accordion, but it still sounds like us. Some things simply don't change. My melodic obsessions and idiosyncrasies remain imbedded in the music, and I suppose they always will be." – Alec K. Redfearn


released September 25, 2012


Frank Difficult - percussive racket and electronic sounds
Orion Rigel Dommisse - voice, Acetone Top 5 organ, Hammond B3 (6, 10), Wurlitzer electric piano (12)
Mark Elliott - doumbek
Matt McLaren - drums and percussion
Alec K. Redfearn - voice, accordion, synths, baritone ukulele (7, 9)
Chris Sadlers - contrabass, electric bass (9)
Ann Schattle - horn in F


Hannah Devine - fiddle (2)
Jimmy Devine - fiddle (2)
Laura Gulley - violin (12), multitracked string section (4)
Clint Heidorn - electric guitar (2, 4, 6, 8, 9)
Yanna Kiriacopoulos - violin (3)
Don Larson - banjo (2, 6)
Seth Manchester - synth (12)
Domenick Panzarella - electric guitar (6)
James Quigley - backing vocals (1)
Lauren Sadlers - backing vocals (7)
Keith Souza - backing vocals (2)
Chris Turner - harmonica (1, 9)

Thanks to AS220, Don't Knock The Rock, Cyril Moya, James Quigley, The Silks, Lolita Black, Steve Feigenbaum and Cuneiform, all Eyesores past and present, and everyone who contributed to our Kickstarter project.

© 2012 Alec K. Redfearn
(p) 2012 Cuneiform Records

Lyrics by Alec K. Redfearn.

All music written and arranged by Alec K. Redfearn
except for “Hashishin” which was written and arranged by
Alec K. Redfearn and Orion Rigel Dommisse
and “St. James Infirmary” words and music traditional, arrangement by Alec K. Redfearn.

Produced by Alec K. Redfearn, Keith Souza and Seth Manchester.

Engineered and mixed by Keith Souza and Seth Manchester at
Machines With Magnets in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, Fall 2011.

Mastered by Brad Blackwood at Euphonic Mastering.

“Scratch” was recorded live at a gig we played in the gallery at Machines With Magnets and we included it in honor of its 20th anniversary. It was the first song I wrote for Amoebic Ensemble.

Artwork and photos by Alec K. Redfearn and Courtney Brooke Hall.

Cover model: Hannah Devine

Layout by Bill Ellsworth.


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Sister Death, you may also like: