We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Last Pirates of Upsilon

by Upsilon Acrux

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Numbquon 02:19
45 Seconds 00:48
Descension 12:32
Modulation 4 06:01
Dark Rainbow 11:11
Tortuga 05:11


"Imagine what would happen if a so called "brutal prog" band tried to record an album like Faust?? Well this is pretty much it. We recorded for 30 days and nights and the things in-between; a lot of improvisation with different instruments and odd lineups.
We had large conceptual pieces including a Steve Reich "Phases" piece but with a warped Slayer record and an army of typewriters, a large ensemble free jazz piece including Mark Cisneros (the Make Up/Des Demonas) with timed changes written with crayons and some diagrams, a crazy long drone piece with Devin Sarno (Crib) aptly named Dark Rainbow with zero sense of irony and a clusterfuck of prog/zeuhl/live speaker cord out rock.
All recorded by me thru a 16 track reel to reel, this is about as far out as we could get without access to a submarine or Delorean.
The same 3 founding members + Josh Quon who played bass / viola / violin / bass clarinet / drums and everyone played Moogs." – Paul Lai August, 2019


released November 1, 2019

Tracks 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13 are improvisations

All songs by Upsilon Acrux:
Jesse Klecker - drums
Josh Quon - bass
Cameron Presley - guitar
Paul Lai - guitar
[unless indicated below]

Descension: [a timed improvisation with no overdubs]
Jesse - drums
Cameron - guitarpercussion
Josh - bass, piano, viola
Paul - guitarpercussion
Mark Cisneros - tenor sax
Christiaan Cruz - alto sax
Mike Flowers - muted cornet
Rob Pash - trumpet
Don Munoz - pocket trumpet

Random Denoucement:
Mark Cisneros - tenor & soprano sax
Christiaan Cruz - alto sax

Evening No Star:
Jesse - drums
Cameron - guitar, bass, Moog
Paul - guitar, piano
Josh - piano, double bass, viola, drums

Dark Rainbow:
Jesse - drums
Cameron - propeller guitar
Paul - propeller guitar
Devin Sarno - ambient-destructo bass
Bobb Bruno - crate 'glass-on-glass' guitar

2-pin Connection
Jesse - drums, static
Paul - guitar, Moog, viola, soprano sax
Cameron - guitar, bass
Josh - bass, sax, drums


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like The Last Pirates of Upsilon, you may also like: