The Songs of Albert Ayler

by Healing Force

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Songs of Albert Ayler via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $16.50 USD or more 




Seven major figures from the art-punk, free-jazz, brutal prog, improvisational and modern jazz world come together for a ROCKING tribute to the unfairly ignored, misunderstood and vilified late period works of Albert Ayler.
These late period songs have always seemed to me like they may have been some of the most personally spiritually resonant for Ayler, but the musicians and the culture of the late 1960s were possibly not able to successfully translate and perform his concept of spirituality, free jazz, boogaloo, nursery rhythms, marching bands, blues and r'n'b, and certainly the free-jazz fans were not ready to accept it.
Now, 40 years and many stylistic mash-ups later, perhaps these works can be better appreciated.

"Albert Ayler's later works (Love Cry, New Grass and Music is the Healing Force of the Universe) seem to be generally reviled. Through meditations, dreams, and visions, the players on this project were given the message to once again attempt to send the people of earth a message of love, peace, and spiritual understanding. We selected a representative set of tunes for this material and essentially let it play itself through us. We hope you will be as surprised as we still are by the results of this invocational experiment. We hope you will like this record." – Henry Kaiser, producer and guitarist


released October 9, 2007

Vinny Golia - reeds
Aurora Josephson - voice
Henry Kaiser - guitar
Mike Keneally - piano, guitar and voice
Joe Morris - guitar and double bass
Damon Smith - double bass
Weasel Walter - drums

All compositions by Albert Ayler with lyrics by Mary Maria Parks, except for New New Grass and New Message by Golia/Morris/Smith.

Recorded May 3, 2006 by Stephen Hart at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, CA.

Produced by Henry Kaiser.


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like The Songs of Albert Ayler, you may also like: