We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $14 USD  or more


What I Say 13:29
Bitches Brew 26:36
Corrado 04:23
Macero 03:04
Yesterfunk 05:25


'Upriver' is Yo Miles! second Cuneiform release and was recorded live directly to stereo DSD recorder at the same sessions that produced the award-winning 'Sky Garden' release.

Containing 2 1/2 hours of music, this recording focuses on Davis' improv-fueled works from the early-mid 70's, while also including an original Smith composition and a group improvisation.

"Smith and Kaiser have recovered some of (Miles') radical energy and reapplied it in the context of a new technology that gives this music clarity as well as thudding power...if you want to see where (Miles') example leads us, this is the way to go"
-The Wire.

"...a sprawling blowout that should convert open minds...at once dangerous and respectful..."
-Denver Post.

"This studio production...offers some of the most immediate and realistic sound of both electronic and acoustic instruments."

"...beautifully played by great musicians...it's fabulously recorded...the album trucks along like the world's number one jam band..."
-Paris Transatlantic.

"Yo Miles! has gone beyond the fundamental with songs that breathe the spirit of Davis to create an atmosphere that resonates with a fire and an essence of their very own. Kaiser and Smith's knowing explorations through Miles' complex electro-funk realm revisits the dread while expanding the beauty."
-All About Jazz.


released January 25, 2005

Wadada Leo Smith - electric and acoustic trumpets
Henry Kaiser - electric guitar
Michael Manring - bass
Steve Smith - drums
Chris Muir - electric guitar
Tom Coster - keyboards
Karl Perazzo - percussion
Greg Osby - alto saxophone
John Tchicai - tenor and alto saxophones
Mike Keneally - electric guitar
with special guests:
Zakir Hussain - tabla & percussion ("On The Corner Jam")
ROVA Sax Quartet [Bruce Ackley, Steve Adams, Larry Ochs, Jon Raskin) ("Black Satin")
Dave Creamer - electric guitar ("Black Satin")


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Upriver, you may also like: