We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Waxed Oop

by Fast 'N' Bulbous

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Trust Us 07:03
Well 04:43
Ice Rose 04:11
The Blimp 01:40
China Pig 03:52


Captain Beefheart's music is the quintessential 'outsider art music' of the second half of the 20th century. Despite the fact that he retired from music over 25 years ago, his music resonates more strongly than ever as an influence on contemporary music. Fast 'n' Bulbous offer a unique slant on the songbook of one of contemporary music's most idiosyncratic musical figures. The band features seven great, well-regarded musicians drawn from the rock and the jazz worlds: co-leaders guitarist Gary Lucas (who was in the final incarnation of Beefheart's Magic Band) and saxist/arranger Phillip Johnston (of the Microscopic Septet) as well as drummer Richard Dworkin, and baritone saxist Dave Sewelson (both also of the Micros), trombonist Joe Fieldler (Ed Palermo Big Band and Satoko Fujii's big band), bassist Jesse Krakow (of Time of Orchids and Doctor Nerve) and trumpeter Rob Heinke (also of Doctor Nerve). With a strong, creative line-up like this, you know that you will be getting something more than just a 'cover band' and you indeed are. Heartfelt, exciting and it both rocks and swings!

"As with their first album Fast 'n' Bulbous take on a fascinating selection of songs from the Beefheart songbook covering albums from Safe As Milk through to Ice Cream For Crow.
The familiar tunes are redefined for a brass section and Don's voice is echoed by horns as the band grapple with the mysteries of the Beefheart rhythm and add their own compelling improvised embellishments taking the songs to a new place. And it's all done with an obvious love of the music and a sense of fun." – beefheart.com

"...a perfect fit for hungry Beefheart fans the world over...Fast 'n' Bulbous have painstakingly retooled the Captain's best-known works as big-band instrumental compositions. The results are fairly staggering...this collection is a masterful reinterpretation of rock's Grand Surrealist's best work. Brilliant!" – The Big Takeover


released January 20, 2009


all rights reserved



Cuneiform Records Washington, D.C.

Cuneiform Records is an independent record label releasing adventurous, boundary-bursting music by artists from around the world.

Founded in 1984.
Based in Washington D.C.

contact / help

Contact Cuneiform Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Cuneiform Records recommends:

If you like Waxed Oop, you may also like: